Ready. Set. Protect.

#StopAppleCensorship

Welcome to the first Worldwide Developers Against Apple Censorship Conference!

We are thrilled to have had such an exciting and successful Worldwide Developers Against Apple Censorship Conference! Thank you so much to all the panelists (see the full list below), hackathon participants and to everyone who joined live or who has watched the videos on Tibet Action’s Facebook page. We hope you have found the conversations as deeply informative and inspiring as we have. We look forward to continuing to work together with panelists and with you in the campaign to #StopAppleCensorship. To join Tibet Action’s mailing list and receive periodic updates on the Apple campaign and other aspects of our work, please go to the Sign Up tab and fill in your information. Thanks!

WHO:

The all-day, online conference that coincided with Apple’s famed Worldwide Developers Conference included three panels of leading activists and technology experts from organizations and media outlets around the world, including: GreatFire, the Citizen Lab, Human Rights Watch, China Digital Times, Keyboard Frontline, The Intercept, Students for a Free Tibet, Guardian Project, World Uyghur Congress, International Tibet Network, Dachompa Tech, SumOfUs, Tibet Action Institute, HKmap.live, and more!

WHAT:

Throughout the day, we hosted the following public panels with leading experts who covered topics relating to censorship and Apple:

In addition, there were two private discussions where we hacked on how Apple implements data localization and app censorship, working togather to figure out ways to challenge Apple censorship and freedom of expression violations through research and advocacy. Participants will collaboratively publish some of their findings so stay tuned.

WHEN:

June 22, 2020

9 a.m. – 4 p.m. EDT

2 p.m. - 9 p.m. BST

6:30 p.m - 1:30 am IST

9 p.m - 4 a.m HKT

SCHEDULE:

Intro + Censorship in China – 1.5 hrs 9:00am EDT / 9:00pm HKT
Break – 15 mins 10:30am EDT / 10:30pm HKT
Hackathon – 1 hr (request participation with registration) 10:45am EDT / 10:45pm HKT
FOE & Apple: the Double Standard – 1.5 hrs 11:45am EDT / 11:45pm HK
Hackathon – 1 hr (request participation with registration) 1:15pm EDT / 1:15am HKT
Break – 15 mins 2:15pm EDT / 2:15am HKT
Publishing iOS Apps When Censored – 1.5 hrs 2:30pm EDT / 2:30am HKT
Closing/Next Steps – 15 mins 4:00pm EDT / 4:00am HKT

WHERE:

If you missed the live event, you can watch the replays on the homepage of this site, or by going to Tibet Action’s Facebook page. Check it out!

WHY:

While Apple executives routinely make statements about the company’s commitment to freedom of expression and privacy as fundamental human rights, the reality for iOS users living behind the Great Firewall tells a very different story. In fact, in the China version of the App Store, Apple censors access to information and limits the ability of users on the ground in Tibet, China, East Turkestan, and Hong Kong to avoid state surveillance. This includes removal of virtual private networks (VPNs) and news apps (like the New York Times) from China’s version of the App Store. This dangerous and unethical double standard for Apple’s China App Store is not only enabling a brutal human rights crackdown, it also serves to aid the government of China in eroding global norms on freedom of expression and privacy. Join the movement to end Apple censorship!